top of page
Search
  • Pranee.Waran

Affordable face masks for sensitive skin

Long story short - I was suffering from severe acne throughout my teens. To add to this, my face became entirely oily regardless of what I used on my face. At one point, I started to use oil-free products suitable for oily skin which stripped all the natural oils from my face, and that was the HUGE mistake I made - thankfully, it wasn't too late when I found out that my skin was combinational skin and not oily. It is so important for you to know what skin type you have before throwing all those products on your face.


To get my skin back on track and to look healthy, the face masks I used helped a lot. You must follow your OTT skin routine (even if it's only once a week) as this gives your skin the chance to cleanse and regain the texture. I have come up with 5 of my favourite face masks for sensitive skin for you guys to try out.


1. Turmeric powder (suitable for the skin) + organic honey + plain and unflavored yoghurt

Turmeric has antioxidants and anti-inflammatory components, honey is an antioxidant, which helps to clean your pores and yoghurt contains lactic acid which helps to break down and removes dead skin. All these mixed together helps your skin to achieve the glow but mainly to deep cleanse your skin leading to the reduction of acne and pimples.


Mix an equal amount of these ingredients to make a thick liquid enough for one use. Freshly made is always recommended rather than the one kept in the fridge. Apply on your face (avoid eyes and lips) and wash off after 15 mins. 2 - 3 applications per week is recommended - more uses could lead to skin irritation but it may work for some people. Carry out your usual skin routine after wash and apply a gentle moisturiser suitable for your skin.


2. Neutrogena clear & defend - wash - mask

This is the face mask I currently use and the best part of it is how refreshing my skin feels after every use. Even though I don't see a glow, the freshness of my face after using this feels so good (every single time!).


It's clinically proven to purify skin and defend against future breakouts and can be used as a wash too (I only use it as a mask). This face mask has kaoline white clay which helps to cleanse the skin to bring a smoother and clearer complexion.


3. Boots tea tree & witch hazel charcoal facial mask

One more to the list of charcoal favourites but in addition, with the amazing tea tree oil and witch hazel. Tea tree oil and witch hazel have anti-inflammatory components which help to calm and soothe irritated skin.


4. L'oreal Paris pure clay detox face mask charcoal

Charcoal is a great and gentle skin exfoliator that removes dead skin from clogged pores, keeping them clean and tight. Keeping your pores tight is important as this reduces the chance of dirt getting into your pores, but never overdo it as this will restrict your skin from breathing freely.


This particular product claims to have 3 pure clays - Kaolin: to absorb impurities, Montmorillonite: to add minerals and Ghassoul: to clarify complexion and charcoal as base ingredients to detox your skin.


Follow the instructions on the product packaging to do a patch test before going all out.


5. Himalayan charcoal purifying glow mask

This is another great product that has charcoal in it to cleanse, tighten and refresh your pores to give the skin the glow.


I would recommend using this every other week or as one of the two face masks you'd like to swap around as this face mask absorbs excess oil, just so that it doesn't strip all the good and necessary oils in your face.


I am not about expensive skincare at all and these do all that I look for in face masks. It is important to understand that a good healthy skin needs other healthy routines apart from your skin routine, i.e: a good diet, regular exercise, 7 - 8 hours sleep etc.


It is vital to do the following when you start to use any new product:

- Read the instructions on the packaging and if there's anything you're unsure about then consult a professional.

- Do a patch test - this step is very important.


Always remember to wash your face with warm water at first to remove the mask and with cold water at last - this helps to tighten and protect pores. This has other skin benefits like fill out wrinkles, slow down ageing etc.


Disclaimer: I am not a skin expert and therefore, please do your research and patch tests (like I have said before) with the products before making them a part of your skin routine. If necessary please consult the brand assistants at the stores or your GP.

Lifestyle, Travel & Motivation

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
bottom of page